Page d'accueil de Résonances 2003 Site de l'Ircam Résonances 2003 Home Page Ircam Website
Résonances 2003
home schedule speakers registration useful Info parners search version française
Resonances 2003 > Open House Weekend > Concert distribution on Internet
day by day program
15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
october 2003

scientific program
electroacoustic musics
around set theory
music analysis tools
musicnetwork workshop

professional week
ircam forum workshops
free software for music
international multichannel sound forum
performing arts and technologies
dance and new technologies
access to sound heritage
thematic evenings
demonstration stands

artistic program
set theory concert
music in creation concert
cursus concerts
opera "one"
sound installations

open house weekend
technologies gallery
conferences demonstrations
workshops and films
ircam laboratories
linux install-party
concert distribution on internet

associated events
resonances night at glaz'art
émilie simon at la cigale
suguru goto

guided tours of ircam and the multimedia library

resonances in pictures

resonances 2002


Experiment of a live concert distribution on Internet by Ircam and the Computer Research Center of Cnam (Cedric).

-  Dates : Saturday, 18th and Sunday 19th October 2003, sessions from 03:00pm and 07:00pm
-  Venue : Ircam, salle Olivier Messiaen
-  Access conditions : free entrance but pre-registration is necessary. Please contact François Déchelle or Patrice Tisserand

Physically, the musicians will be on different locations although they have to play "virtually together" in real time. Each one of them will send his audio flux that the other will hear. To be able to play together, the other musicians will receive the feedback thanks to a device that synchronizes the audio flux and that was developed as an object of the jMax library software.

This synchronization requires a steady latency regarding the restoration of the sound. The musicians will play faster than the music they hear ; however, they will be able to play together in a synchronized way. A virtual metronome will allow the musicians to get used to the network latency.

Thanks to distant supervision of the musicians' outputs, an engineer will be able to control their audio flux (volume, local latency...) so that the public can be part of this virtual concert.

Technical team

-  Cnam-Cedric

Nicolas Bouillot : synchronization and metronome
Hans-Nikolas Locher : supervision (sound engineer)
Rémy Bonafous : installation of network devices
Eric Gressier-Soudan : team coordination
Samundeswary Ramachandra : network manager (nTop)
Mohamad Al Jammal : dimensioning

-  Ircam

François Déchelle : jMax real time environment
Patrice Tisserand : jMax real time environment


Jazz Quartet KumQuat :
Rafael Quenehen, saxophone
Clément Lebrun, bass
Sylvain Choinier, guitar
Julien Bloit, drums

Jean Lochard, real time electronics

With the participation of Franck Perrolle (guitar), Edwige Allouche (singing).


Organization Committee
Copyright Ircam-Centre Pompidou 2003